National Name: Belize

Government: Parliamentary democracy within the British Commonwealth

Prime Minister: Said Musa

Population: 273,000

Capital City: Belmopan

Land Area: 22.965 square miles - about the size of Massachusetts

Languages: English, Spanish, Garifuna, Creole, Mayan

Currency: Belize dollars $1 US = BZ$2

Timezone: GMT minus 6 hours

Famous For: Snorkeling and diving, Mayan ruins, mangrove swamps

Miles We Will Bike: 0

Image courtesy of